Weapons of Compassion: The Four Karmas

Compassion is peaceful at heart but also must actively engage with sharp clarity, like a crystal sword. In the Buddhist tradition, there are four awakened and compassionate actions (karmas): pacifying, enriching, magnetizing, and destroying. How do we know what is appropriate? In particular, how do we work with aggression and hatred? When must we “destroy”? How do we stop a violent attack without being consumed by anger and hate?

This course was hosted in person at Karmê Chöling and offered simultaneously online from November 4-6, 2022.

These talks and materials are offered to anyone.
If you find them of benefit and would like to make a teacher’s gift, you are welcome to do so.

Introduction/Meditation Instruction

Tonglen, Compassion Practice Instruction

Talk 1: Pacifying

Talk 2: Enriching

Talk 3: Magnetizing

Talk 4: Destroying